|
This annotated bibliography does not include everything ever written by and
about Serling, for such a list would run pages. Serling was not only a
prolific writer, he was (and remains) a heavily marketed one. The majority of
Serling publications are Twilight Zone or Night Gallery stories, only some
of which are included below.
In-print titles have links to Amazon.com.
If your library does not own any of these books, see about borrowing them using
Interlibrary Loan. To purchase out-of-print books, try Advanced Book Exchange.
Biography | Published
Scripts | Program Guides
| Fiction | Background
- Engel, Joel. Rod Serling: The Dreams and Nightmares of Life in the Twilight
Zone. Chicago: Contemporary Books, 1989; 353 pgs. A dark look at Serling's
life based largely on interviews and Serling's personal papers. Hampered by a lack
of index and bibliography.
- Zicree, Marc S. The Twilight Zone Companion. 2nd ed. Beverly
Hills: Silman-James Press, 1992; 466 pgs. Primarily a program guide, but several chapters discuss Serling's life pre-
and post-Zone. If you want a concise yet cogent look at Serling, this is a
great source.
ALSO...
- Rod Serling: The E! True Hollywood Story (originally aired February 2000) --
Tabloid-style look at Serling's life which includes interviews with friends and colleagues
but not family. Not available on video, but airs periodically on the E!
cable channel.
[ Top ]
Gauntlet
Press has recently published collector's-edition Twilight Zone
scripts from Serling
(in three volumes, see below) and TZ writers Richard
Matheson (two volumes) and Charles
Beaumont. Dozens of Twilight Zone scripts were published during the 1980's in the defunct
Rod Serling's The Twilight Zone Magazine. TZ shooting scripts
are also be available
from Script City. Drew's
Script-o-Rama has some transcripts.
- Best Televison Plays. New York: Ballantine Books, 1965, 1956; 250
pgs. A good sampling of work from the best writers of television's Golden Age (Paddy
Chayefsky, Reginald Rose, Horton Foote, etc.). Includes Serling's 1954 teleplay
"The Strike."
- Great Television Plays, Vol. 2. New York: Dell, 1975; 302 pgs.
Includes Serling's acclaimed 1970 Hallmark Hall of Fame teleplay "A Storm in
Summer."
- Requiem for a Heavyweight and Other Plays. New York: Scholastic Book
Services, 1971; 125 pgs. "Requiem" is the only Serling script in the
collection.
- Serling, Rod. Patterns: Four Television Plays with the Author's Personal
Commentaries. New York: Simon and Schuster, 1957; 246 pgs. Serling's best
early work: the breakthrough "Patterns," the universally acclaimed "Requiem
for a Heavyweight," as well as "The Rack" and "Old
MacDonald Had a Curve." Bonus: "About Writing for Television,"
a revealing 40 page essay by Serling.
[ Top ]
- Schumer, Arlen. Visions from The Twilight Zone. Upland: DIANE
Publishing Company, 1998; 176 pgs.
A beautifully crafted program guide designed to imitate the experience of watching black
and white TV. Includes essays by Serling, his wife, TZ producer Buck Houghton
and Village Voice critic J. Hoberman.
- Zicree, Marc S. The Twilight Zone Companion. 2nd ed. Beverly
Hills: Silman-James Press, 1992; 466 pgs. Outstanding. Includes episode guide, interviews with cast and crew,
and insightful mini-bio of Serling. Well illustrated.
[ Top ]
All of Serling's forays into fiction were short story adaptations of his Twilight
Zone and Night Gallery scripts -- except for The Season to be Wary,
where he worked the other way around. New editions/versions of these workhorses go
in and out of print frequently.
- Serling, Rod. From the Twilight Zone. New York: Doubleday, 1962; 314
pgs.
- -----. More Stories From the Twilight Zone. New York: Bantam, 1961;
149 pgs.
- -----. New Stories From the Twilight Zone. New York: Bantam, 1962;
122 pgs.
- -----. Night Gallery. New York: Bantam, 1971; 147 pgs.
- -----. Night Gallery 2. New York: Bantam, 1972; 152 pgs.
- -----. The Season to Be Wary. Boston: Little, Brown, 1967; 276
pgs. Trio of novellas which Serling later adapted into the classic Night Gallery pilot.
- -----. Stories From the Twilight Zone. New York: Bantam, 1960; 151
pgs.
- -----. The
Twilight Zone: The Complete Stories. New York: TV Books,
1999; 448 pgs. The Nineteen stories
previously published as Stories From the Twilight Zone, More Stories From..., and New
Stories From... compiled in one volume, with an introduction by T.E.D. Klein.
[ Top ]
- Sturcken, Frank. Live Television: The Golden Age of 1946-1958 in New York.
Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Company, Inc., 1990; 178 pgs. Serling is discussed
with the other pioneers responsible for this critical period in the evolution of
television.
[ Top ]
PERIODICALS
- Rod Serling's The Twilight Zone
Magazine (aka Twilight Zone Magazine). New York: TZ Publications,
1981-1989. Serling's widow, Carol, was associate publisher and consulting editor of
this bimonthly which ran for eight years. Issues featured original TZ
teleplays, episode guides to TZ and Night Gallery, interviews with those in
the sf/horror field (Stephen King, Robert Bloch, Leonard Nimoy), fiction, and film
previews. Full information can be found at The
Fifth Dimension.
[ Top ]
|