DATABASES AVAILABLE

  • The databases described below are all part of FirstSearchAccess to FirstSearch -- except for WorldCat -- requires an authorization code and password.  Call the Reference Dept. at (217) 477-5228 to obtain these (must be Illinois resident).

  • A federated search engine, Webfeat, is also available.  Webfeat allows you to search multiple databases simultaneously (requires your library card number).

FIRSTSEARCH  DATABASES

Database Description Full Text?
ABI INFORMU.S. and international articles on business and managementY
ArticleFirstOCLC index of articles from the contents pages of journalsY
ClasePeriodica Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanitiesY
Ebooks OCLC catalog of online electronic books available through libraries worldwide
ECOAn OCLC collection of scholarly journalsY
ERICJournal articles and reports in educationY
GPOU.S. government publications
HealthInfoHealth and wellness information for consumers, students and professionalsY
IllinoisCatalog OCLC catalog of materials in Illinois libraries 
MEDLINEAll areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursingY
PapersFirstOCLC index of papers presented at conferences worldwide
PerAbsPeriodical abstracts from general and academic journalsY
ProceedingsAn OCLC index of worldwide conference proceedings
WilsonSelectPlusFull text articles in science, humanities, education and businessY
WorldAlmanacFunk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia and four almanacs
WorldCatThe world's largest library catalog.
WorldCatDissertations A database of all dissertations and theses available in WorldCat 

LOGIN to FirstSearch databases.